

# 2023 COMPETITION RESULTS









### GROUP A : ART & CRAFT

A1 Art (Lynda Swift Trophy): 1, Ray Quickfall (Whickham); 2, Harriet Marley (Hepscott); 3, Judith Herdman (Morpeth) A4a Photo Prints: 1, Pat Wood (Widdrington Station); 2, Susan Dawson (Morpeth); 3, Susan Dawson A4b Enhanced Photo Prints: 1, Susan Dawson (Morpeth); 2, Peter Downs (Widdrington Station); 3, Susan Dawson A6 Exotic T-Shirt Photo: 1, Richard Stewart (Morpeth) in Tajikistan; 2, Susan & Gordon Hine (Morpeth) in New Zealand; 3, John & Caroline Turnbull (Woking) in Troy, Turkey A31 Patchwork: 1,2 &3 Heather Smith (Morpeth) A33 Cross-Stitch: 1, Victoria Harrison (Morpeth); 2, Susan Hine (Morpeth A35 Needlework: 1, M Ilett (Lincoln); 2, Purnina Dargan (Morpeth); 3, Heather Smith (Morpeth) A37 Wool Crochet: 1, Susan Smith (Morpeth); 2, Holly Shotton (Morpeth) A40 Hand Knitting: 1 & 2, Charly Curry Brown (Melkridge); 3, Brenda Shotton (Morpeth) A42 Soft Toy: 1, Meg Wilson (York); 2, Susan Smith (Morpeth); 3, Megan Wisdom (Newcastle) A52 Hooked Cloth Rug: 1, Sheila Wilson (Blyth) A59 Miscellaneous Craft: 1, Janette Govia (Hadston); 2, Megan Wisdom (Newcastle); 3, Sheila Wilson (Morpeth) A61 Dyed Pace Egg: 1, Megan Wisdom (Newcastle); 2, Brenda Shotton (Morpeth); 3, M Ilett (Lincoln)

A63 Disabled Persons' Craft: 1 & 2, Susan Hine (Morpeth); 3, Patricia Rescigno (Morpeth)
A64 Junior Individual Craft: 1 Millie Carlyle (Morpeth); 2 & 3, Anya Harrison (Morpeth)
A65 Junior Group Craft: 1, 8th Morpeth Guides
A66 Wyn Bibby Ingenuity Award: 1, Janette Govia (Hadston); 2 Meg Wilson (York)
A70 Shop Window: 1, The Chantry
A72 Group Costumes: 1, The Storytellers Street Band
A73a Cushie Butterfield Costume: Wendy the Puffin (Morpeth)
A73b Cuddy Butterfield Costume: Taffy Thomas (Ambleside)

#### GROUP B : WRITING & COMPOSING

**B1 Song Writing**: 1, Maggie Feeney (Falstone) "Far Horizons); 2, Graham Bell (Brindlewood, Cheshire) "Hexham Hirings"; 3, John Homer (Whittingham) "The Price of Coal"

**B2a Melody:** 1, Marina Dodgson (South Gosforth) "Meadow Rise Hornpipe"; 2, Rob Say (Wall) "The Hexham-Birnie Jig; 3, Colin Bradford (Alnwick) "Mrs MacAskill of Kilbarchan"; Highly Commended, C, John Shurlock (Winchester) "The Dyke Neuk Inn"; HC, Rob Say (Wall) "The Gift of Liberty"; HC Geoff Wright (Doncaster) "Harthill Hornpipe"

**B2b Composing Excellence:** 1, Marina Dodgson; 2, Rob Say; 3, Geoff Wright; HC, Colin Bradford

**B2c Variations:** 1, Geoff Wright "Miss Denton's Fancy"; 2, Jon Shurlock "Shields Fair"; 3, Marina Dodgson "Jamie Allan"

**B3a Novice Northumbrian Verse:** 1, John Robertson (Ashington) "Tetty Picking"

**B3b Open Northumbrian Verse**: 1, Brian Dawson (Blyth) "Geordie and Santa"; 2, Carol Dixon (Pegswood) "The Caaledge Born"; 3, Brian Dawson "Geordie's Sporting Life"

**B5 Northumbrian Prose:** 1, John Robertson (Ashington) "Quarter to Fower on a Summer's Afternoon"; 2, John Robertson "Delivering Newspapers at East Chevington Drift"

**B8 Short Story:** 1, Lynne C Potter (Hexham) "Sanctuary"; 2, Adrian McRobb (Cramlington) "A Pocketful of Seeds"; 3 Peter Slater (Lincoln) "The Red Hospital"; HC, Lynne C Potter "Cuckoo Jack"

**B16 English Verse:** 1, Adrian McRobb "Thoughts: on Chantry Bridge"; Commended, John Lawson (Morpeth) "The Morpeth Northumbrian Gathering"; Adrian McRobb "Observing... Seaton Sluice" and Lynne C Potter "Hexham Voices"

#### **GROUP C : PERFORMING**

C3 Unaccompanied Song: 1, Graham Bell (Brindlewood, Cheshire); 2, William Brown (Bedlington); 3, Brian Hunt (South Shields) C4 Accompanied Song: 1, Tom Browne (Oswestry); 2, Chris Jones (Wall) C5 Traditional Ballad: 1, Pat Oldale (Evemouth) **C6 Folk Group:** 1, Hexham Village Band (Hexham) C7b Country Dance Band: 1, Tyneside Fiddle Alliance (Newcastle); 2, Hexham Village Band (Hexham) C9c Open Fiddle: 1, Mossy Christian (Lincoln); 2, Charly Curry Brown Melkridge) C10a Novice Smallpipes: 1, Cheviot Liu (Newcastle); 2, Paul Johnson (Tynemouth) C10c Open Smallpipes: 1, Alex Barrass (Stocksfield); 2, Ian Stephenson (Thropton) C11 Miscellaneous Instrument Solo: 1, Ruth Harvey (North Shields) C12 Instruments Duet: 1, Stewart Hardy (Seaton Sluice) and Ali Say (Wall); 2, Charly Curry Brown (Melkridge) & Mossy Christian (Lincoln) C14 Border Pipes: 1, Edric Ellis (Huntingdon); 2, Alex Barrass (Stocksfield) C18 Northumbrian Speech: 1, Eileen Beers (Morpeth); 2, June Johnson C22 Storytelling: 1, John Robertson (Ashington); 2, Chris Jones (Wall) C26 Hoafy Trophy: 1, Stuart Lawson (Stakeford) C26 Emily Inspires! Singing Trophy: 1, Ruth Harvey (North Shields); 2, Pat Oldale (Evemouth)

## Next year's 56th Gathering: 5<sup>th</sup> to 7<sup>th</sup> April 2024 (to be confirmed) www.northumbriana.org.uk